Active Matter on the Strait, Messina, Italy, 3-5 April 2023

The ActiveMatter in-person meeting will take place in Messina, Italy, from 3 to 5 April 2023.

Venue: Sala dell’Accademia Peloritana dei Pericolanti.
Link to GoogleMaps: Accademia Peloritana dei Pericolanti
Coffee breaks, lunch: Il Giardino della Durlindana
April 3: Farine – Pizzeria Messina
April 4: Il Giardino della Durlindana
April 5: ‘a Cucchiara


Program of the event (updated: 27 March 2023). Click on the image to download/open the program in PDF.


  • Onofrio M. Maragò, IPCF-CNR Messina
  • Maria Antonia Iatì, IPCF-CNR Messina
  • Rosalba Saija, University of Messina
  • Giovanni Volpe, University of Gothenburg
  • Agnese Callegari, University of Gothenburg

Local Organizer Committee

  • Maria Grazia Donato, IPCF-CNR Messina
  • Alessandro Magazzù, IPCF-CNR Messina
  • David Bronte Ciriza, IPCF-CNR Messina and University of Messina


  • Carolina van Baalen: Fuel-dependent Steering of Catalytic Microswimmers by Obstacles
  • David Bronte Ciriza: Light powering active matter
  • Jérémie van Bertrand: Hybrid Lattice-Boltzmann free energy approach to phoretic systems
  • Alireza Khoshzaban: Pushing Janus microparticles using nano-second pulsed laser
  • Ayten Gülce Bayram: Motility-induced shear thickening in dense colloidal suspensions
  • Danne van Roon: Active Chiral Particles in (2+1) Dimensions
  • Chun-Jen Chen: Minimal social interactions for flocking behavior
  • Davide Breoni: Active matter in complex environments
  • Sandrine Heijnen: Emergent Collective Behaviours for Active Particles with Tunable Interactions
  • Liam Ruske: Active nematics for living matter
  • Ojus Satish Bagal: Light Driven Biohybrid microbots
  • Laura Natali: Experimental realization of supervised learning in a swarm of autonomous robots
  • Jesús Manuel Antúnez Domínguez: Microfluidic approaches for bacterial collective behaviour
  • Audrey Nsamela: From micromotors to nanovectors : controlled mixing in microfluidics applied to Active matter and nanotechnology
  • Dana Hassan: Development of Intelligent Microfluidic Systems for the Investigation of Novel Drug-Delivery Techniques Based on Active Matter.

Confirmed Participants

ActiveMatter Network

  • Julia Yeomans, University of Oxford
  • Nuno Araújo, University of Lisbon
  • Lucio Isa, ETH Zurich
  • Giorgio Volpe, UCL
  • Ignacio Pagonabarraga, EPFL
  • Hartmut Löwen, University of Düsseldorf
  • Luca Biancofiore, Bilkent University
  • Caroline Beck Adiels, University of Gothenburg
  • Juliane Simmchen, TU-Dresden
  • Antoni Homs Corbera, CHERRY-BIOTECH


  • Carolina van Baalen, (ESR-1) ETH Zurich
  • David Bronte Ciriza, (ESR-2) CNR-IPCF Messina
  • Jérémie van Bertrand, (ESR-3) EPFL
  • Alireza Khoshzaban, (ESR-4) Bogaziçi University
  • Ayten Gülce Bayram, (ESR-5) Bilkent University
  • Danne van Roon, (ESR-6) University of Lisbon
  • Chun-Jen Chen, (ESR-7) University of Konstanz
  • Davide Breoni, (ESR-8) University of Düsseldorf
  • Sandrine Heijnen, (ESR-9) UCL
  • Liam Ruske, (ESR-10) University of Oxford
  • Ojus Satish Bagal, (ESR-11) University of Rome “La Sapienza”
  • Laura Natali, (ESR-12) University of Gothenburg
  • Jesús Manuel Antúnez Domínguez, (ESR-13) ELVESYS
  • Audrey Nsamela, (ESR-14) ELVESYS
  • Dana Hassan, (ESR-15) CHERRY-BIOTECH